Un, deux, trois: Mascara

I’ve never been much of a mascara user mostly because I hated how they left smudges all over my spectacle lenses. But I recently decided to give mascara another chance and I’m glad I did – it really does make a significant difference to my eye makeup and thankfully, the three I’ve been testing out lately don’t do the stupid smudgy thing.

mascaras1

First up is the Maybelline Falsies Waterproof mascara which I bought after Tanya Burr raved about it in her YouTube videos. I really like it! The curved wand makes applying the mascara a breeze and it adds both volume and curl, making my lashes really stand out. I wouldn’t know whether my lashes look like I’m wearing ‘falsies’ since I’ve never tried any (I’m shuddering at the very thought of gluing anything onto my eyelids) but I love the results and I would definitely repurchase this mascara!

falsies

Next up is the No.7 Exceptional Definition mascara from Boots. I remember seeing this on a few beauty blogs and I really had high expectations from this one. Alas, it is a bit of a dud. It doesn’t add much volume to my lashes,lashes nor a lot of length. In fact, it doesn’t really do much except make my lashes look a bit spidery and add a few clumps here and there. I will use it up, but there are definitely better mascaras out there.

no7_mascara

I’ve saved the best for last – the Fairy Drops Platinum Mascara. I picked this one up on a recent trip to Bangkok and I have to admit, I bought it only because of the name and how unbelievably cute the packaging was. It is only later that I realised how freaking expensive this mascara actually is (about 19 euros for a tube) and that Fairy Drops is actually a well known Japanese brand!
I am head over heels in love with this mascara, thanks mostly to its unique wand. It might look weird, but it seems to really grab onto my lashes and makes them look thicker, longer and voluminous. And that’s just one coat! I don’t think it is waterproof, but it has withstood my runny eyes and never smudged. Nor does it clump. All in all, this one is a winner and I’m going to be devastated when I have to stop using it (after three months it it? Or six?).

fairydrops_plat fairydrops_wand

So there you have them – the three mascaras that made their way into a mascara hater’s stash and two that she actually loved!

2 thoughts on “Un, deux, trois: Mascara

Leave a Reply

