Crème de la Crème: 2013

Instead of a monthly favourites post, I decided to share some of makeup and skincare finds and favourites of 2013 with you all!

Makeup favourites

faves_2013b

Laura Mercier secret brightening powder – I’m still on the lookout for the perfect concealer but I know I’ll never be without this powder. It is perfect for setting concealer and brightening the under eye area!

Liquid liners – I was always a gel liner fan but liquid liner is so much quicker! My favourite is Illamasqua’s Havoc but I also love Makeup Forever’s sparkly black one.

Nars lipsticks – Last year I think I was very MAC obsessed, but this was the year I discovered Nars and fell head over heels in love with their lipsticks. I’ve tried almost all of their finishes now – semi matte, velvet matte and pure matte and they are all equally amazing. My favourite shades are Schiap for an almost neon pink lip and Mascate for a deep red pout.

Mascara – Yes, I started wearing mascara only in 2013! I’d never found one I liked in the past but I currently have two great ones in rotation. Check out my favourites in this post.

Cream shadows – 2013 has been the year of quick and easy eye makeup so I added lots of cream eyeshadows to my stash. I love Benefit’s Skinny Jeans the most – a grey with hints of khaki but Maybelline’s Color Tattoos are a close second.

Overall, the makeup brand of the year has to be Maybelline. They really upped their game this year and came out with some amazing makeup including the Vivids lipsticks and Color tattoo eyeshadows. Plus their gel liner, falsies mascara and dream matte powder are permanent fixtures in my makeup collection!

Skincare favourites

faves_2013a

Bioderma sunscreen – I always avoided using sunscreen until I found this one because they tend to leave a greasy, white cast behind. This one has a lovely matte finish, a high SPF and doesn’t break me out despite daily use. Amazing!

Nuxe reve de miel lip balm – This is a recent discovery and one that has saved my lips from getting as dry and chapped as they usually do in winter.

Hand cream – I bought my first hand cream this year when repeated hand washing left my knuckles dry and rough. Now I’ve tried 3-4 more and I wonder how I ever lived without them! The L’Occitane shea butter one is my favourite but I like my Soap and Glory Hand Food too.

Soap and Glory heel genius foot cream – This is what I would refer to as ‘holy grail’. It has kept my feet as soft as a baby’s bottom even weeks after a pedicure!

As far as skincare goes, Soap and Glory are my favourite brand this year. My bathroom cabinet is full of their stuff including body wash, scrubs, shower gels and body butter. I like everything I’ve tried so far but I absolutely adore their hand and foot creams and their Sugar Crush body scrub is incredible!

My beauty resolutions for 2014 include focussing more on skincare, spending less on makeup (especially lipsticks) and taking the time to find the perfect everyday foundation (or tinted moisturiser) and concealer.

To end this post, I have some big news! *drumroll*

As you guys may know, 2014 is a big year for me personally. I will need to find the balance between being a mom and a blogger, something I’m very nervous about. I’ve actually written a ton of backup posts, but I wasn’t sure how to get them up once baby gets here. To help with this, my husband has given me an amazing gift – our very own website! It will be much easier for me to schedule and post from there and for him to help me.

So this is my last post here and from January 1st, 2014 you can find my blog HERE. I hope you will all join me there!

Wishing you all a very happy 2014! May your new year be full of love, luck and happiness! 🙂

Leave a comment